Taking a break

Sometimes the things you learn are things that you already knew.

After 2 months of fits and starts with running – it became obvious its time for an early off-season. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit disappointed. I was really looking forward to redeeming myself at the TNF 50 in December. I like running way too much to let a single race jeopardize my ability to run in the future. So I’m embracing this break and making the most of it.

Meanwhile I’m filling the voids with surfing, climbing, yoga-ing and weight training. Some of these things were things I should’ve been doing all along as I’ve been going neck deep into training. Running has made my body stiff, inflexible and unbalanced. Perhaps a month of not doing any running – can tip the scales at least a little bit. In a way I’m glad for this injury it has exposed my weakness and gave me a clear thing to focus my energy on.

I had much bigger expectations for this year but all was not for naughts. Im starting to scheme 2016 and I intend it to be an awesome year full of rad races and consistent injury free running adventures. Some of the things on my radar include the Gorge Waterfalls 100k in the spring. I would like to do a some fast packing adventures such as the High Sierra Camp Loop. Maybe Squamish 50 in August? Bishop High Sierra 50 / 50k in October? or maybe even a 100mi depends how things go – perhaps Rio Del Lago? Another thought was to put my name in the NYC lottery, it would mean a lot to me to have my family cheer for me for once. It would mean so much to finally cross the Verazzano on foot after doing so 100s of times on the daily. The key to getting there is to keep healthy, consistant, build an awesome mileage base.

Leave a Reply

